Working with Audio and Adobe Presenter

rl

In this series we will look at the different ways to include audio in Adobe Presenter.  Audio in our case will also includes video.  We will look at some of the different equipment I use in order to record our teachers and students. (If you want to see my Las Vegas presentation about Adobe Presenter, then please click here to view the recording of the presentation)

May I just say that I use the Adobe and Apple software to do most of my work, but you can perform some of the same functions in other software which is available.

Can I also say from the start all you need is a simple microphone to record your audio into Adobe Presenter. I am just giving you more than one way to record your audio.  Please choose the best way you think works for you.

Using Audio and Video in Adobe Presenter

Using Audio and Video in Adobe Presenter

Hardware used:

  • Editors Keys portable vocal booth Pro 2 Incl. Floor and Desk Stand (link here)
  • Windows 8 laptop
  • Mac 10.9 machine

Software used:

The first think I will talk about is equipment.  When I was trying to make up my mind of what I was going to use, I had a good look around at the different recording equipment available.  I settled on Editors Keys portable vocal booth Pro 2 Incl. Floor and Desk Stand, mainly because it was not expensive, connected to my USB port on my laptop and gives fantastic sound.  I really recommend it to anyone who is just starting out or in the business of recording voice overs.

By connecting  to my laptop, it gave me a easy way of recording the audio straight into the software, in my case Adobe Audition.  However can I point out  that it really depends on the time I have, but  one of the  fantastic feature of Adobe Presenter is that you can record audio straight into Adobe Presenter.  So you don’t need to purchase any equipment if you don’t want to.  I am merely speaking about my workflow.

The great thing about the Editors Keys portable vocal booth Pro 2 Incl. Floor and Desk Stand, is that it includes everything you need to get started and stay relevant. I absolutely love this studio and it is so easy to use with teachers. (prices may have changed)

Editors Keys portable vocal booth Pro 2 Incl. Floor and Desk Stand

Editors Keys portable vocal booth Pro 2 Incl. Floor and Desk Stand

So once the teacher and I set down, we talk about what they want to get across to their students.  Once this is established, the teacher come to the studio and we start recording.  One thing I will say is that to make sure they have added all the notes and headings to PowerPoint Presentation they want to use in their Adobe Presenter along with having notes based on their curriculum.

Mr Ardy - Photography Teacher @ChiswickSchool

Mr Ardy – Photography Teacher @ChiswickSchool

Adobe Audition

Adobe Audition

What the teacher want to say mostly always changes, because teachers, and I am one of them, will either have too much to say (so we need to cut it down), not enough or maybe you can give them a better direction in terms of how they are expressing themselves.  Not in terms of their curriculum, but in terms of delivery and keeping it short.  If you can say what you need to say under 40 second then you stand a good chance of students listening to you.

In terms of machines, Adobe Presenter only works on the PC now, however if you want to record video you can download this program, This video is unlisted. Only those with the link can see it. Adobe Presenter Video Express for the Mac.  Please listen to the great great presentation by Dr. Allen Partridge, an Adobe Evangelist. Please follow him here also (link here)

Dr. Allen Partridge, Adobe Evangelist

Dr. Allen Partridge, Adobe Evangelist

The software is fantastic, easy and useful, which will help you record and produce video that you can distribute to your student and parents.

What we are trying to do is to produce materials which students and parents have access to 24 hours a day, students to help them learn the the curriculum and parents so they understand what their children are learning or suppose to be learning.

Another set of Microphones to have a look at is the Rode microphones.  This company is amazing with the quality of mics they produce.  I use the following because of their quality and price.

The RØDE VideoMic Pro

The RØDE VideoMic Pro

Lavalier Lapel Microphone

Lavalier Lapel Microphone

Lavalier Lapel Microphone

Lavalier Lapel Microphone

Be aware that if you purchase the Lavalier Microphone you will also need to spend about $30.00 (22 pounds ) for some external parts.  See Rode’s website here. Also keep in mind depending on your requirements, you can get a much, much cheaper microphone to use to record your audio. Might not sound great, but you do what you have to do to be successful.  That is all that matters, regardless of what anyone tells you.

Rode also has a microphone which is the smartLav is a professional-grade wearable microphone, that cost around 35 pounds.  All depend on what type of sound you wish to have.  Remember this is just my opinion so make up your own mind.  I am NOT responsible for your decisions.

The smartLav is a professional-grade wearable microphone

The smartLav is a professional-grade wearable microphone

OK, wow, once you have selected your microphone, make sure you have some place that is as silent as possible to record. One of the things I have found that is amazing is how we tune out sound. If you are silent and just listen, there is so much noise that is out there.  So always test your area with your audio equipment before it really matters. Always use the equipment you are going to use on the day of recording and time before you record.

If I am recording the audio I use the Zoom HN64, which to me is the best recorder on the market.  Hey just my opinion.  It has NEVER let me down. Never!!!!!  Cost around £229.00.  They have other more modern versions however.

Zoom HN64

Zoom HN64

To record the video I use a Cannon 700D D-SLR camera, which has been released in Europe weeks before the States.  I think in the States it is called the Cannon T5i (link here)  See the review.  Again not my opinion, just information.  I am just starting in this arena so I am not an expert. NOT at ALL.

Once I have my sound and video I then always if I require video create the content in Adobe After Effects.  I can then use Adobe Media Encoder (which comes with Creative Cloud)  to reduce the size of the file.  An outstanding program for your outstanding productions. Once the content is complete, I export it out import  the content into Adobe Presenter and publish. NICE!!!!!!!!!!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Getting Started with Adobe Presenter | The Evolution of A New Day

Leave a Reply

