New Opportunities

New Opportunities

It is amazing how quick time goes by. I have been at Chiswick School now from September to Christmas and man time has flown by. Been a very interesting experience and one that I feel has allow me to grow in many ways.  One of the most interesting experiences I have had is the opportunity to be given the time to work with staff to create amazing, creative and interesting projects. I have been pleased that the staff has been so welcoming and interested in helping me help them create interactive multimedia content (apps, websites, videos, audio files) and so much more.  (This along with the teaching role has kept me very busy)  You can find a lot of what we have been doing and creating here at rllearning.com. Please have a great look around the site.

One of the events I have really enjoyed is having the chance to visit Las Vegas to speak at an Adobe eLearning conference.  I had the wonderful opportunity to work with Dr Alan Partridge and Pooja Jaisingh, both Adobe eLearning Evangelist.  Both wonderful and extremely creative people who are heroes of mine.

2013-10-21 16.01.29

2013-10-21 09.52.10AlanP

These guys are creative and have created some of the most inspirational tutorials and content which has allow me to learn and help others in their quest for eLearning growth. They travel the world teaching and showing people what is possible with Adobe software and to me they are changing the world. Wonderful people creating outstanding opportunities for others.  Priceless!!

I also had the opportunity to meet Cait Ryan who works at TechSmith who I think makes two of the most creative products on the market today.  One of them is Camtasia Studio which allow you to edit video and add various items such as callouts.  It’spowerful, yet easy-to-use, Camtasia helps you create professional videos without having to be a video pro. Easily record your on-screen activity or import HD camera video, customize and edit content, and share your videos with viewers on nearly any device.  The second product is Fuse which has made my job so easy in terms of collecting video from members of staff.  All they need to do is shoot the video and bring their iPads to me.  I then crank up TechSmith Fuse, connect the Ipad through a bar code Camtasia creates, select the videos I want and click connect.  Done!  All the videos are then send to my machine.  No wires, no waiting for anything.  This process just works and is a great part of my workflow.

TechSmith Snag it Fuse

TechSmith Snag it Fuse

I would like to thank Cait Ryan for taking the time to come to my session and make the effort to speak to me after.  I love their products and she is such as wonderful and passionate person.  Thanks Cait.

The next event was with Tablets for Schools.  Really enjoyed speaking at this conference because it confirms to me that we are leaders in the content creation field with our teachers.  So many people and schools who really don’t know where to start or how to start.  Just buying the devices and putting them into schools is not going to work.  You will need training for your teachers, parents and students.  You also need to ensure you have the bandwidth to support your goals and dreams.  Had the opportunity to listen to David Blunkett MP who did a great job with his speech.  We are creating home grown content with our teachers in front of our students.  The materials are available to our students 24 hours a day, whenever they want, wherever they want and however they want on any device.

David Blunkett MP
David Blunkett MP

David Blunkett MP

I spoke along with Tony Ryan and Paul Sykes who is the financial manager at school.   Out primary goal was to inform people about the journey Chiswick has gone through and our dreams and goals.  Please click here and listen to our first tutorial for parents. 

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 21.38.54

If you would like to learn more about the Tablets for School website, then please click here to view their site.

In December, I was also asked by Tony Ryan, the Head teacher, to create a piece for the BETT show to enter one of their competitions regarding how teachers see the class room in 30 years time.  Told him OK when he asked me, but the more I thought about it I just felt I had no idea what I would or could do.  I then thought back to my mother and how she has always said not to rush success, if it is meant to be it will be.  No sooner that 20 minutes passed and I came up with the whole concept.  Added all my thoughts to paper, scene by scene, took me 25 minutes to come up with the concept.  Couldn’t believe it (thanks Mom).  Took the concept to Tony and he gave me his opinion and one improvement which was to let people know about the work we had already started at Chiswick School.  So went back and added a screen to my drawing and came up with our final submission for the BETT Show.

The next step was to find the young men to help me do the voice overs, all done in Adobe Audition.  Once I found the young men both of them Year 7’s, I needed the best product on the market to me for creating the animation voices, Crazy Talk Animator.  Recorded the young men voices in 25 five minutes flat and then it was time to use After Effect to create the final piece.  Used Adobe Fireworks to add the green background and then saved each as a PNG.  Imported each of the images into After Effects, added a green screen effect, positioned each of the videos, got the timing just right, came up with the concept for placement of the graphics and I was done.  Whew!!!!  Took the final submission to Tony to get his approval.  He was happy, I was happy and then I had just two things I needed to do was to, export the content out of After Effects and submit the final piece to the BETT show. All done!!!!!!!!  My first ever competition, should be interesting!! (-:  Good luck Chiswick School!!

You can see that submission here or click on the image below.

Chiswick School

Chiswick School

Well we wont know for a while now but the experience has been a great one.  Re-introduced me to Adobe After Effects and just about every tool that Adobe does.  I hope you truly like what we have created.

By the way, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all.  May God continue to bless you and yours.

Opportunity

Leave a Reply

